Recent domain name scam

Many clients contact me wondering if they should purchase additional domain names.

Here is an email from a recent scam (maybe you’ve seen it):

Dear CEO,
We are Asia Domain Name Registration Limited, which is the domain name registrar centre in Hongkong. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the April 16 2008, we received an application formally. One company named ” OMS Investment Corp” applied for

The Domain Names:
wovenworkz.cn
wovenworkz.com.cn
wovenworkz.hk
wovenworkz.mobi
wovenworkz.tw
wovenworkz.jp
wovenworkz.co.kr etc…

This a purely fear based email scam and should be sent to the spam folder.

This client has the domain wovenworkz.com and it is the only domain they need at this point. The above email suggests that a third party is interested in buying these other domain names. Let them.

You might want to check out this article on purchasing multiple domain names, and when it makes sense.

Related posts:

Comments are closed.